Energy

Energy policy - towards a sustainable, secure and competitive energy supply in a context of decarbonisation

Luxembourg's energy policy aims to respond to climate and environmental challenges and to guarantee the country's security of supply. Luxembourg complies with the climate ambition set by the international community through the Paris Agreement. In order to achieve this objective, it is imperative to aim for and reach the objectives of zero emissions by 2050 and the transition to 100% renewable energy.

The Integrated National Energy and Climate Plan (PNEC, Plan national intégré en matière d’énergie et de climat) provides the basis for Luxembourg's climate and energy policy. It describes the policies and measures to achieve the ambitious national targets for the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions (-55%), renewable energies (25%) and energy efficiency (from 40 to 44%) by 2030. It constitutes the roadmap that will be put into practice through the adoption of regulations, programmes and projects in the specific areas between 2020 and 2030.

The main pillars are the massive development of renewable energies, their integration into the energy network in particular through the development of decentralised energy storage, intelligent energy networks that are digital and therefore much more efficient, the use of more sustainable means of transport, an intelligent building stock and a reduction in the grey energy contained in stocks and flows of materials.

Last update

Énergie

La politique énergétique – vers un approvisionnement énergétique durable, sûr et compétitif dans un contexte de décarbonisation

La politique énergétique luxembourgeoise vise à répondre aux défis climatiques et environnementaux et à garantir la sécurité d'approvisionnement du pays. Le Luxembourg se conforme à l'ambition climatique que s'est donnée la communauté internationale à travers l'accord de Paris. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, il est impératif de viser et atteindre les objectifs de zéro émissions en 2050 et le passage à 100% d'énergies renouvelables.

Le Plan national intégré en matière d’énergie et de climat (PNEC) constitue la base de la politique climatique et énergétique du Luxembourg. Il décrit les politiques et mesures permettant d’atteindre les objectifs nationaux ambitieux en matière de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (-55%), d’énergies renouvelables (25%) et d’efficacité énergétique (de 40 à 44%) à l’horizon 2030. Il constitue la feuille de route qui sera mise en pratique par l’adoption de règlements, de programmes et de projets dans les domaines spécifiques entre 2020 et 2030.

Les principaux piliers sont le développement massif des énergies renouvelables, leur intégration dans le réseau d'énergie à travers notamment le développement du stockage d'énergie décentralisé, des réseaux d'énergie intelligents digitalisés et donc beaucoup plus efficients, l'utilisation de moyens de transports plus durables, un parc immobilier intelligent et une réduction de l’énergie grise contenue dans les stocks et flux de matériaux.

Dernière mise à jour