The Ministry

The Ministry of Energy and Spatial Planning is divided into two departments whose main tasks are defined by the Grand-Ducal decree establishing the ministries.

The Department of Energy coordinates the country's energy policy and the objectives of ensuring a sustainable energy supply and maintaining and strengthening the national supply in the following economic fields:

  • Electricity,
  • Natural Gas,
  • Solid and liquid fuels,
  • Renewable energies,
  • Energy efficiency and energy savings,
  • European politics and international relations,
  • Promotion of energy activities and technologies,
  • Klima-Agence.

The Department of Spatial Planning ensures the coordination of municipal, intermunicipal, national, cross-border and international sectoral policies that have an impact on territorial development. The spatial planning policy aims to ensure respect for the general interest by ensuring optimal living conditions for the entire population through the development and sustainable development of all parts of the national territory. In this context, it ensures rational use of the land and concentric and coherent urban development.

The different fields of activity of the Department of Spatial Planning are therefore:

  • Territorial strategies,
  • Regulatory plans,
  • Urban and regional development,
  • Natural parks,
  • Cross-border spatial planning,
  • European territorial cooperation,
  • International spatial planning policy.

Last update